Could I…

https://www.eau.ac.ae/english/Images/CL_livingInDubai_tcm556-1300996.jpg

Random little texts from the Hubby about silly job offers in Dubai…but could I if it was serious?

I’ve been the child of parents who went to work overseas – Dad moved with the bank to Papua New Guinea – whilst the memories are tarnished by my parents divorce I do remember having lots of fun. Sure it must have been dangerous, afterall we had guards, huge fences around our property and whenever we went anywhere lots of security with guns (and my Dad was by no means a high flyer just a bank manager) but I never really took in that aspect of it at the time.

Things changed though and later in life I never saw myself wanting to live anywhere but Perth. Sure I wanted to travel and see the world and take big holidays whenever we could but I knew I wanted to live and raise a family in WA. So what’s changed?

I guess seeing how expensive it is to live in Perth and how our dreams of home ownership keep slipping further and further away (unless we want to live in suburbs we don’t want to live in – I am yet to be able to consider that sacrifice). Something in my brain has switched and I would actually be ok with living in another country. My friend has almost completed her two years in Canada and I’m guessing it’s been one of (if not) the best experience of her life. Coming from a Human Resources background the fear of it disrupting my career trajectory was always there, thinking about how it might be difficult coming back to Perth and getting a job but now…Now I don’t care about mine, only Hubby’s and if it wouldn’t screw with his future prospects then I’m pretty keen.

This doesn’t mean that I don’t respect myself or my career or that I value his career above my own (except to some extent I do) it just means that at this point in our lives he’s doing something he’s passionate about whereas I love my place of work and the work is good but it doesn’t drive me. Then there are the kid(s) to factor in too and I figure before they really get into schooling maybe it would be good to try our time somewhere else?

I know next to nothing about Dubai other than I’ve been through the airport a couple of times and the ads for it on Emirates flights make it look like a rich kid’s paradise. I wouldn’t jump on anything like this without research but for now it’s just day-dreaming fun and it sure does beat doing the cleaning!

Tagged ,

9 thoughts on “Could I…

  1. Lila says:

    I think it is something I’d try, not personally particularly keen on Dubai but if the money was right I would.
    The housing market is a big part of why we moved back here, otherwise we’d never have gotten in to the market and I would not be able to stand having rented for the last three years.

    • aussiemor says:

      I guess it’s all about being able to make your home where you find it & you’re doing an amazing job! Yeah Dubai would not be my top pick I’d like Montana & horses πŸ˜‰

      On Thursday, June 19, 2014, icecreamandbuckets wrote:

      >

  2. lllearningmum says:

    I have relatives who live in Dubai. They moved there pre kids and now have 2. It is expensive and it isn’t. We have visited them pre kids and just about to visit them again. They have a live in housekeeper who was also a nanny for their first child. It is very normal to have a housekeeper. They live in a housing estate/compound. They have a shared pool and community centre. I don’t think part time work is common. It is a lot of shopping malls as the place to go. It is fairly family friendly. It is too hot in their summer to go for a walk. You have to have an exit plan for if you lose your job. It is a strange thing the expat life.

    • aussiemor says:

      Yeah it’s a lot to think about! Very interesting to hear what it’s actually like though. It’s odd how the expat life always seems to come with house keepers/nannies definitely not the norm here.

      On Saturday, June 21, 2014, icecreamandbuckets wrote:

      >

  3. sassandspice says:

    How timely you have written about this as my husband talked to me this week about us moving overseas in the next few years! Isn’t Dubai tax free pay? And I guess it’s close to Europe (i.e not as isolated as Perth).

    • aussiemor says:

      I have no idea about Dubai to be honest other than I’ve always wanted to go watch the big horse race there πŸ™‚ It’s exciting though & you’re right a lot less isolating that Perth! How do you feel about it?

      On Sunday, June 22, 2014, icecreamandbuckets wrote:

      >

      • sassandspice says:

        It would be an experience! I say go for it as home will always be here and you are still relatively young! I feel the same about suburbs and the monotony of it all.

      • aussiemor says:

        I meant will you guys πŸ˜‰ so far I think hubby was just joking with me!

        On Sunday, June 22, 2014, icecreamandbuckets wrote:

        >

      • sassandspice says:

        Ahh!! Okay I would love to! The opportunity for my children to be embedded into another culture and to share the experience as a family.

Leave a Reply

