28 by 29 Part II

28by29

Continuing on from Part I:

FIFTEEN: VISIT MY LITTLE SISTER & KEEP IN TOUCH WITH HER MORE OFTEN

 My family has always been insanely close so it feels like there’s a big hole because she’s gone over to the other side of the country. I’m really happy for her but miss her like crazy especially with the kids growing up and only have limited contact with their awesome Aunty and Uncle. But this one is about making the most of it. It’s fun to send and receive mail and thankfully technology has come a long way.

Unfortunately it costs a lot to fly to the other side of Australia and Logan isn’t free any more. I think this will be our ‘holiday’ whilst I’m on leave and it will be great to spend time with her, see their new home and have some good old fashion family bonding.

 SIXTEEN: CAMPING

This constantly pops up on my lists and with this shift in the weather kicking in it’s making me more desperate to get it done. Sadly I don’t see it happening whilst I’m pregnant – the whole needing to pee non-stop and how uncomfortable sleeping on the ground is – but I’ll be dragging the rest of the family out as soon as possible.

SEVENTEEN: SPEND MORE TIME WITH FRIENDS

Because I’m such a homebody I usually let the time slide between catch ups but when they do happen I really enjoy them. I have been putting in more effort in this regard and I find that if I get in the mindset of ‘but they aren’t putting in the same effort’ it’s just a complete waste of my energy. Besides, there’s a whole range of reasons why people don’t organise catch-ups, the important thing is that people rock up and we all have a good time.

EIGHTEEN: ESCAPE THE  HOUSE WITH TWO KIDS IN TOW

My aim is to get this done within the first two weeks of Baby Girl being born (provided everything goes ok). I’m thinking shopping or a big trip out not simply going to the doctor or to Mum’s group.

NINETEEN: MORE PICNICS

Logan loves picnics and the whole family enjoys getting out and having dinner in the open air. We have a gorgeous park over looking the river that we occasionally go to but I want to make it a common thing. Similar to how families have Sunday Roast we’ll have weekend picnic dinner and if it’s too hard to get out we can always do it in our front yard.

TWENTY: LEARN A NEW SKILL

I have bought some yarn and crochet hooks in preparation for this one. But I think I’d rather learn a new skill that’s job related. I miss knowing stuff like html and how to make a website look pretty not that that’s related to my field but, I want to feel like I’m not losing myself to my children.

TWENTY ONE: COOK MORE

I want to start cooking more meals and making my own snacks for Logan. He has way too big a sweet tooth and is constantly snacking so I want to try and ensure he has better stuff going into his body than sweets and baby cinos. I guess I should also add stop giving in to a toddler to this list too then ha-ha

TWENTY TWO: SELL A WHOLE TONNE OF HOUSE STUFF

We have a big house but will definitely be down-sizing in the future and with a new baby coming into the fold we need to do a clear out. I’ll be aiming to sell a bunch of stuff on Gumtree but I’m also tossing up the idea of having a garage sale…unfortunately heading into winter that probably isn’t the wisest thing to do considering we have no garage.

This stems on from my wanting to live simply and with less. We have too much stuff in our house, I’m trying to keep more from coming in unless it is necessary but somehow it still accumulates!

TWENTY THREE: WRITE MORE

The desire to write a novel is still there but it’s not a fire burning in my belly instead its an occasional spark. I’m hoping by writing more that the passion will return. I have no ideas currently floating around in my head and no plans to have a novel written by a certain date either. This should also help with improving my blogging and blog content as well.

 TWENTY FOUR: MAKE CHRISTMAS PRESENTS

The list is becoming a bit more creative that what I thought I wanted! I did this before Logan was born as well because I knew we wouldn’t have too much money. This time around I plan on doing the same thing. I’ve got some decent ideas up my sleeve so that people don’t feel like they’re getting ripped off with a crappy diy pressie – I don’t mean that in a materialistic way I just love giving presents at Christmas and always aim to please the receiver.

TWENTY FIVE: CELEBRATE ME

I want to learn to enjoy myself and ensure I’m a good person to be around. I find it easy to get time to myself (especially if Logan has a decent nap!)  but I guess what I mean by this is that I want to do something for myself. This will not involve my phone, iPad or a computer and will be more focused on stopping and smelling the roses.

Maybe this will be me teaching myself something new or it could be as simply as sitting outside with a cup of tea and taking 5 minutes to myself. I have no expectations for this one other than enjoyment.

TWENTY SIX: TO DO LISTS

I need these in my life and I’ve found I’m much more productive if I have things to tick off, especially when it comes to cleaning. I won’t be letting them rule my life but I need a bit more structure to ensure I get shit done.

TWENTY SEVEN: PLAY WITH MY CHILDREN

I am not the mother I thought I would be, I hate pretend play, hate it, hate it, hate it, so of course what does my toddler love more than anything…

I’m going to make sure I spend this year getting down on the floor, building towers, cooking cakes and saving Mickey & Minnie from a ravenous tiger.

TWENTY EIGHT: CONTINUE TOWARDS OUR GOAL OF HOME OWNERSHIP

It won’t be happening before I turn 29 (no way no how) but I can ensure that we’re in a good position in the lead up.

 

So friends, that’s what I’m aiming to focus on in my 28th year (or is it 29th…) maybe I should have added learn maths to the list!

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “28 by 29 Part II

  1. Lila says:

    These are awesome Jess, I am excited to hear updates are you go with these!

  2. sassandspice says:

    I keep forgetting how young you are! 2 kids by 30 is a major achievement though! Most of my friends are over 30 and probably won’t have 2 kids until they are over 35.

Leave a Reply

