Getting Rid of the Clutter

I hate cleaning, have I stressed that enough yet? I was perusing my usual reads and stumbled across a post on My Little Loves about living a minimalist life. Since then I've begun a slow purge of everything (especially my clothes and random kitchen bits and pieces) and it feels so good.

The bed in our office is now covered in all that stuff and I am mulling over selling it or donating it. I think I will do half and half but most of it will go to charity. I just want to choose one that actually gives goods to people who need it rather than op shops etc… where anyone can go to snag a bargain. So if anyone in WA has any suggestions please let me know.

I have already failed in not buying Logan any toys this year. We went ahead and snagged him a play kitchen in the sales and he is in heaven. I bought this because A) it was half price for something pretty awesome and not ugly/covered in pink and (B) I want to encourage his imaginative play and get him interested in cooking and baking – something that Andreas never got into as a child!

But back to living a minimalist life, I'm not doing the best job of it and lately I've become pretty terrible with money but it's motivating me. I'm now really thinking about what I purchase instead of just buying things for no reason. So wish me luck and I hope this inspires someone else in some little way. It is scary to think about just how much waste we are producing. I get horrified seeing people throwing away perfectly good furniture because they can't be bothered donating it or even selling it!

My little dare devil on a hand me down bike

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Getting Rid of the Clutter

  1. Julie says:

    You get better at living a minimalist life. I made a deal with myself to buy nothing new for myself for this whole year. That includes op shops and stuff that would be new to me. So far I have succeeded. Though I have been slowly sewing through my fabric stash for both Jarvis and I.
    Each month I work on one area/room and de-clutter it. It goes into three, throw, give away and sell. It feels amazing. So hope you can continue with your de-clutter.

    • aussiemor says:

      I wish I could commit to the not buying anything new for a year. I might have to start with a month seeing as I already failed with the no toys in 2013 rule!

      I’m adding that to my list of tips – declutter a room once a month!

  2. Bekah Joy says:

    So happy to read this! Your life will be so much simpler with less “stuff”!

  3. Lila says:

    We’ve got to get rid of more stuff, I have no idea why we still have so much I constantly purge and I don’t buy a lot!
    It always makes me feel better when we strip back to less things.

  4. […] touched on this briefly in a post in July last year “Getting Rid of the Clutter” but this year has definitely bought living simply into focus a lot more for […]

Leave a Reply

