Hello Life, My Name Is…

This always reminds me of starting a new class, those horrible little introduction things you had to do! My least favourite was whenever they did it according to the alphabet – thinking up things that start with J sucks.

Lately I’ve been realising that two procrastinators having a baby who turns out to be much like his name sake (a little Wolverine) does not make for a very productive household/life. Things are always on the backburner and I feel as though housework is the only thing that really gets done, any projects we want to do fall to the wayside because someone always has to look after Logan.

Thankfully our family has been a huge help and as I noted in my grateful post we got a shade sail put up out the back. Did I also add that neither of us have a ‘handyman’ bone in our body? Thank god for my step-dad and brother-in-law (if you’re in Perth and need a plumber/aircon guy let me know!) they really stepped in and saved us from having to pay lots of money we don’t have. I also managed to squeeze in working on painting our second-hand hat stand, granted I only got the undercoat sprayed on but that’s a start!

But working on projects meant the housework fell to the wayside and in my dream life I would love to hire a cleaner but we’re trying to save money at the moment so that’s out of the question. It just means vacuuming whilst the rest of the family goes for a walk and letting the mopping go until next week! All this money saving is in the hope that we can buy the remainder of the mortgage on this house off my Mum and step-dad.

Tonight we’re meeting with a finance guy to talk over options and fingers crossed we get a good result. It’s definitely going to see a big change to our lifestyle but we haven’t really had to do it hard yet and I know we are so so spoilt in that regard. I guess that will mean even more projects will have to wait but if it all works out we will be sort-of homeowners! Time to crack open a cheap bottle of bubbly.

Thankfully if it doesn’t all work out we’re not facing eviction for another couple of years which will probably coincide with another baby but living out of suitcases with a little one is what we do best 😉

Sorry for the random to-ing and fro-ing of this post I’m sick and Logan has done my head in today. I think we are dropping our afternoon sleep but he doesn’t seem to be lengthening the morning one so it’s nightmare city. That combined with this cold and teething makes for a miserable Monday!

4 thoughts on “Hello Life, My Name Is…

  1. Lila Wolff says:

    If it’s any consolation the housework doesn’t even get done here, don’t be hard on yourself some kids are just more. More demanding, more destructive, but also more amazing (not that that makes it any less exhausting).
    I have my fingers crossed with the house for you!
    Eve only has one afternoon nap but it’s thankfully 1-3 hours long, she actually sleeps more now that it’s just the one nap.
    If there’s anything I can do let me know I understand just how mentally broken they can leave you.

    • aussiemor says:

      I’m hoping Logan is going to settle into a longer nap. It’s so hard knowing that the lack of sleep affects him so badly but he’s the only one who can do something about it – I’m sure sleep gurus would be able to tell me I’m doing this wrong but meh!

      No luck with the house, I think we’ll have to reevaluate at a later date especially once we’ve finished having babies. It’s funny how kids affect the amount of money you can borrow, I told Andreas to divorce me so he can get heaps more haha but as he pointed out we still couldn’t cover the repayments. Oh well, we found out Mum isn’t keen to kick us out so that’s a plus at least!

      We both keep saying it but I reckon Eve and Logan are two peas in a pod!

  2. Pink Ronnie says:

    Hey Jess,
    Sorry to hear it’s so tough at the moment…
    Thinking of you,
    Ronnie xo

Leave a Reply

