Back to it

Work that is…

I started last week, just two days (Thursday and Friday) and really enjoyed it. Unfortunately (& I say that in a completely non judgemental way!) I had to put Logan in daycare. So far it isn't going great but we will keep at it. He has always been a very clingy and difficult baby/toddler so I knew it wasn't going to be a walk in the park as it had been for other mothers. I'm just hoping that he doesn't take after his father in this regard and daycare just isn't for him because I thoroughly enjoyed my two days of work!

On the work front I'm branching out from recruitment (yay) and getting to apply my studies more, the downside I have to deal with workers compensation (boo). I'm not looking forward to having to deal with the cases where it's obvious fraud and they're just trying to sucker us but I guess it will be good to expand my skill set. I'm definitely not tough enough for the role but hopefully that will improve with time and it will be good helping people return to work after injury etc…

It's strange going back after such a significant amount of time off. People have come and gone, offices have been moved and our interview room is once again in a donga! But everyone was so welcoming and my team is brilliant so all good things.

In regards to daycare I took Logan in today and stayed with him for roughly 40 minutes. He started off really clingy and unhappy but after all the babies had finished lunch he started playing with toys and interacting lots more. 2 of the boys there are in my mum's group which is good. Although one was being a bit pushy in this sly adorable way. Logan didn't mind, I think he thought he got pushed to the ground in a hug gone wrong haha. I wanted to take him back in because otherwise he would have had 5 whole days without being there and it would have really messed him about.

He was a mess this past weekend though and completely obsessed with me. We had to be standing up and holding him for him to stop crying and he even wound up sleeping in our bed Friday night because he was inconsolable. He's definitely having massive separation anxiety problems so any suggestions would be great. He's also started hating his highchairs with a passion and not enjoying swimming in his paddling pool so it was a hard weekend. I think he actually cried with minimal breaks for about 20 hours straight – it was like having a newborn all over again.

Surprisingly I'm now more than ever keen for another baby and probably sooner rather than later. I feel terrible though because I more than likely will be pregnant again and have been at work for less than a year. But life and family are more important than a job and I don't want a huge age gap between them either.

Off to exercise soon (hurrah) we lost our trainer to a honeymoon over the holidays so it will be good to get back into the swing of things. I'm happy I haven't put on any excess weight which really surprised me because I've stopped breastfeeding and haven't been eating super healthy either. But back to more workouts so I don't put any more on and hopefully can shed a few more kilos!

 

 

 

Tagged , ,

11 thoughts on “Back to it

  1. Sammie says:

    Poor Logan 😦
    Honestly I think it’s harder the older they are not easier.
    I think you will find he will get used to it soon.
    Drop offs will probably always be hard but as long as he is having fun while he’s there that’s all that matters!
    I quite often call after an hour to check in and see how Abigail is going and it’s always good! And sometimes I eve hear her in the background!
    I think daycare will be good for Logan! I think over time he will become less clingy too!

    Glad to hear you are enjoying being back at work!!!
    And plans for baby number 2! Wow!
    We are waiting a bit for no. 2 maybe later this year will give it a crack! Ha ha! Then again… Might be similar timing as there’s only 3 mths between A and L!

    • aussiemor says:

      Yeah they said the drop off will probably always involve tears but I’m hopeful he’ll start to relax into it. Still early days so can’t expect any major changes yet!

      Maybe we’ll even share a date again haha I want a June or July baby because we have so many birthdays at the beginning and end of the year! Sometimes I just have to laugh at my overzealous planning brain.

  2. Pink Ronnie says:

    Go number 2!!! 🙂
    Sorry to hear daycare has been so tough on Logan…. hopefully with time, he will gradually adjust and settle into it. Our Angus did one day of daycare every week from the time he was about two, and I think it really helped to prepare him for preschool. Our Pete, who’s never been to daycare, is starting preschool this year and I don’t think he’s anywhere near when Angus was at.
    Ronnie xo

    • aussiemor says:

      It’s your fault Ronnie! Your little boys are gorgeous and just make me want a whole little gang, I’ve always wanted a big family and I can actually say now that I don’t mind if I never have a little girl (it’s taken me awhile to get there!).
      Thank you for letting me know about Angus and preparing him for preschool, I kept feeling that I should have started Logan sooner but this is how it’s all happened!

  3. Lila Wolff says:

    I can’t believe I missed this post! Well done getting back to work and tackling new things, you’re tough enough I promise. You have all my sympathy with how Logan is with day care, Eve was so similar and I just couldn’t take it, I’m sure I’d have stuck it out if it was for work and not study though. Such a shame that we aren’t closer because then Logan could come play with Eve while you worked.
    I’m really looking forward to you having another baby, they’ll be so beautiful.

    • aussiemor says:

      I know I was missing you last week wishing we lived close! I do make a good looking baby haha but look at Eve (little stunner and your older two didn’t miss out either!) are you still on the fence about a number 4? If we have two angels next I reckon I’ll push Andreas for a fourth hehe

      • Lila Wolff says:

        Still on the fence, I lean one way and Ty leans the other. Time will tell I guess! If Eve was an angel I’m sure there’d be #4 on the way already.

  4. sassandspice says:

    Geez I missed this post too!! It’s a big thing going back to work isn’t it? And the whole daycare thing too and thinking only you can look after your kid the best but they do a bloody good job too imho. I also went back to work 2 days a week initially and even though I went back longer than I thought I would, it has been great for career progression and $$$.

    • aussiemor says:

      I think I would be more motivated if I felt like work was going somewhere. I have moved into a slightly diff jobshare role but not getting the right kind of $$ for it which is getting to be important now – looking at buying our home!!!
      Logan’s daycare is great I just wish he was having an easier time of it all. But, I knew it would be a tough road for both of it and I’m glad I’m doing it sooner rather than later.

  5. Hey Jess, well done on the return to work, it is tough isn’t it. I am sure Logan will slowly start to feel more setttled and happier during the drop off, which of course will make you feel more settled and happier too.. Its great you are able to start off part time and can just see how things unfold with career vs family down the the track.

    Exciting to hear your plans for number 2!

    • aussiemor says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Yeah it will be interesting to see what the future holds, apparently my Mum is now informing me I can’t have a baby in July/August as they are going to the Artic…gotta love family getting in on the baby business haha

Leave a Reply

