Tough

So my awesome day was gearing me up for this…my wonderful Nana, Logan's Great Nana and my last surviving grandparent passed away. I feel a bit numb to it all as she had a stroke(s) many months ago and was not the same woman she used to be. I know it is for the best, she's no longer trapped in a body that was not letting her be who she wanted to be. That was the hardest thing to witness when we last visited her (I'm so glad we made the trek to show her Logan even if it was incredibly hard to see her like that), you could tell she was the same person but she just couldn't communicate anymore. Nana always said she didn't want to be stuck in a body that didn't work and wanted the right to choose to die (this isn't what happened but was something she strongly believed in and I do too). I am glad she's in a better place now, wherever that may be my only sadness is that my poor Dad is overseas on his trip of a lifetime and I hope he doesn't come back, it's not what Nana would have wanted and it doesn't make him a bad son for not returning for her funeral. I feel I'd be doing a disservice not going out and travelling the world and having adventures because she always wanted the best for us.

So today I will remember all the good times we had instead of focusing on what could have been. Nana you were an amazing lady and I'm so glad I got to share over 26 years with you. Rest in Peace with Granddad xoxo

 

Tagged ,

12 thoughts on “Tough

  1. Lila Wolff says:

    Wish I could be there to give you a big hug.
    I do think you’re right, I’ve always felt that the dead won’t mind if we don’t come to their funeral, they aren’t there anymore.
    Lots of love to you, please let me know if there is anything I can do.

  2. Sammie says:

    so sorry to hear of your sad news.
    (I’ve finally made it over here – I have lots of catching up to do!)

  3. sassandspice says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your Nana’s passing. Logan had a chance to meet her though and she will always be remembered…xxx

  4. spark says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your Nana. It is a blessing when they are released from pain and suffering but so hard for those they leave behind. I imagine the coming months will be tough for your dad. Funerals are not for the dead, they are for the living. A time, a ritual to say goodbye. To acknowledge the life of a loved one. Your nana sounds like she was a beautiful soul. Hoping the coming days are gentle on you and your family xxx

  5. EmmieGemmie says:

    So so sorry Jess.

Leave a Reply

